Saturday July 31st 2010 Archive

Kicked off the D&B section of this show with a remix of a classic tune from 1994 by Alex Reece “Basic Principles”. Probably one of the earliest D&B tunes to use a “2-step” pattern, which was very different from the sound of Hardcore/Jungle prevelant at the time. Commix have freshened the tune up nicely – I really like some of the new synth sounds added in particular. The good news is that you can grab an mp3 of the remix for free from the Metalheadz Soundcloud page!

Other fresh stuff in hour 1 (not featured previously) comes from Code 3 (aka Jubei, SP MC and Dakuan), Parallel, Nebula, Metro and a forthcoming Dissident tune  (“Scarecrow” will be featuring on Absys Records excellent first ever vinyl release alongside Lm1 and Mr Sizef). The “Artcore Mountanizm” EP from Parallel comes highly recommended and, you can decide how much (or how little!) you pay. “Blue Carpet, Black Thoughts” is probably my favourite track on the release, but it’s all quality.

I’ve been playing Polska’s “2nd Rate” album quite a bit on the show over the last few months as it has been available through the Subtle Audio Shop since May, but the general release is just out. It’s available from Juno Records with free delivery right now and from yer local shop / online store too.

Another essential release at the moment is the Nebula / Reactiv 12″ vinyl on Scientific Wax. I played “Midnight Star” by Reactiv on the show before but the flip-side “South London Nights” is just as good – amen beats with some really warm pads and emotive horns for the ultimate rough/smooth combination.

Into hour 2 and some Dubstep / Electronica styled beats. Recent material from AQF, Scuba and Actress and a promo for a forthcoming release by Kidkut & Gatekeeper is featured aswell as some stuff that I haven’t played before on the show by Pangaea, Hyetal and Ramadanman & Appleblim. The show finishes with a classic from the 1995 album “Iaora Tahiti” by Mouse On Mars. Happy listening.

Future Beats with Code on Spin South West FM (Ireland) – Saturday July 31st 2010

Download or Stream Part 1—>

Download or Stream Part 2—>

Part 1:
“Basic Principles” (Commix Remix) – Alex Reece // Metalheadz – Free Download
“Chasing Dreams” – System // Future Thinkin’
“Acacia Avenue” – D-Bridge, Skream & Instra:Mental // Autonomic
“Response Call” – Code 3 // Exit
“Blue Carpet, Black Thoughts” – Parallel // Self Released
“Dumster” – Polska // Subtle Audio
“Scarecrow” – Dissident // Absys
“Snare Drum Awareness” – Rockwell // Digital Soundboy
“I ‘N’ I” – Breakage // Digital Soundboy
“South London Nights” – Nebula // Scientific Wax
“Gateman” – Digital // Phantom Audio
“Rogue” – Instra:Mental // Darkestral
“The Dawn” – Metro // Amen Brothers

Part 2:
“Justify” – Ramadanman & Appleblim // Applepips
“Energy Distortion” – F // 7even
“Ska Train” – Elemental // Runtime
“Quasar” – Silkie // Deep Medi Musik
“Dead Living” – Pangaea // Hessle Audio
“Gimme A Break Won’t You” – Dr. Pytor // F.4.T. Music
“Middle Man” – Benga // Big Apple
“Code Red” – Kidkut & Gatekeeper // Immerse Promo
“Rhythm Bomb II” (Aart Greenwood Edit) – AQF // AQF
“Minerals” – Scuba // Hotflush
“The Last Time We Spoke” – Hyetal // Formant
“Und U Boat Actress” – Actress // Nonplus+
“Schlecktron” – Mouse On Mars // Too Pure


~ by codefuturebeats on July 31, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: